Inside AWSP

Torch of Leadership Award

Torch of Leadership header

The Torch of Leadership Award honors individuals serving in the Washington state government who have demonstrated outstanding support of principals and the principalship. The award was established in 2009.

Nominations are submitted by members of the AWSP Advocacy Committee. The final selection is made by committee and AWSP staff members. Recipients are named in the spring after the legislative session and honored in October at the AWSP’s fall Advocacy Committee meeting.

2020 Winner: Representative Lisa Callan (D-5th)

Each year, AWSP’s Advocacy Advisory Council has the opportunity to select a state-level public servant who has demonstrated support of principals and the principalship in the education of all students. For 2020, the Council selected Representative Lisa Callan as AWSP’s 2020 Torch of Leadership Award winner. Representative Callan is a Democrat representing the 5th legislative district, which includes Issaquah, North Bend, and the surrounding areas. 

In her work as a legislator, she demonstrates incredible systems-level thinking in her approach to mental health needs for children. Representative Callan puts the needs of students first in her work as a policy maker and she communicates well with stakeholders as she makes decisions. She is committed to building strong communities and an education system that equitably supports each and every child.

Rep. Lisa Callan

Past Winners

Roz Thompson headshot

For More Information 

Roz Thompson | Government Relations & Advocacy Director | (800) 562-6100

Back To Top